Insight Investment Astronomy Photographer of the Year until 5 March 2021

Deadline: 5 March 2021. Astronomy Photographer of the Year is open to everyone. All you need is a camera or phone and an eye for a stunning shot. The competition showcases the world’s best space photography, from spectacular skyscapes to mind-blowing images of distant planets and galaxies. Every year, photographers from across the globe compete to be part of the final exhibition and take home the prestigious title.

There are eight different categories for adult photographers (adult entrants must be aged 16 or over):

• Aurorae
• Galaxies
• Our Moon
• Our Sun
• People and Space
• Planets, Comets and Asteroids
• Skyscapes
• Stars and Nebulae

There are no separate categories in the Young competition (young entrants must be aged 15 or under). Entries may feature any astronomical subject.


Adult competition:

The judges will select a winner, runner-up and one highly commended entry from each category.

· Winner: £1,500
· Runner-up: £500
· Highly commended: £250

The overall winner is chosen from amongst all the Adult competition category winners. This winner receives £10,000 and the title of Astronomy Photographer of the Year.

Young Competition:

· Winner: £1,500
· Runner-Up: £500
· Highly Commended: £250

Special Prizes
The judges will also award two Special Prizes: the Sir Patrick Moore Prize for Best Newcomer and the Annie Maunder Prize for Image Innovation. Both winners will receive £750.

Photo Contest Website: